Mark P. Harris, CPA (LA), Randall A. Ross, CPA (OK) and Barbara A. Ley, CPA (OK) were honored as 2021 NASBA award recipients at the Annual Business Meeting on November 3.

Harris, NASBA Chair 2011-2012, was presented the William H. Van Rensselaer Public Service Award by Awards Committee Chair Janice Gray. Harris is credited with promoting increased communication and membership involvement within NASBA, spearheading the establishment NASBA’s Diversity Task Force and Legislative Support Committee, and coining NASBA’s Mission Driven, Member Focused motto. He served as co-chair of NASBA’s Education Committee when the Accounting Education Research Grants Program was formed. Additionally, during Harris’ term as chair, NASBA’s mission was also broadened to include “advancing the common interests of the Boards of Accountancy.”

Randall A. Ross, Executive Director of the Oklahoma Accountancy Board, was presented the Lorraine P. Sachs Standard of Excellence Award by Ms. Sachs, NASBA Executive Vice President Emerita. A former Executive Directors Committee chair and liaison to the NASBA Board of Directors, Ross is a member of NASBA’s Legislative Support Committee, and a former member of NASBA’s CBT Administration, Enforcement Resources, Executive Directors and Peer Review Compliance Committees, as well as the Joint ALD/ERC Subcommittee.

Barbara A. Ley received the NASBA Distinguished Service Award. Ley is a former chair of the CPA Examination Review Board (2016-2017), a former Southwest Region representative on NASBA’s Nominating Committee, and a former member of NASBA’s CPA Licensing Examinations and Education Committees. In addition, she is a former chair, vice chair, secretary and member of the Oklahoma Accountancy Board, and a former president, treasurer, secretary, and member of the Board of Directors and Executive Committee of the Oklahoma Society of Certified Public Accountants (OSCPA). Ms. Gray presented the Distinguished Service Award to Ms. Ley.

Related News

Full Issue