Since 1988, NASBA has presented awards to deserving individuals who have made a notable impact on State Boards of Accountancy, NASBA and the accounting profession. In the spring of each year, the Awards Committee extends a formal Call for Nominations inviting NASBA membership to submit nominations for the following awards:

  • William H. Van Rensselaer Public Service Award
  • NASBA Distinguished Service Award
  • Lorraine P. Sachs Standard of Excellence Award

Following the Call for Nominations, the NASBA Awards Committee reviews all nominations and identifies three finalists to present to the NASBA Board of Directors for final approval. Upon receiving final approval, each of the award recipients is notified. Award winners are presented at NASBA’s Annual Meeting, held in the fall of each year.

Call for Nominations:

Board of Accountancy executive directors and members are encouraged to submit nominations during this period.

> NASBA Award Winners

> 2024 Awards Nomination Form


William H. Van Rensselaer Award

Established in 1988, the William H. Van Rensselaer Award was created in memory of NASBA’s first full-time executive director, William H. Van Rensselaer, and recognizes an individual who has contributed to the development of a new program, improvement of a current program for the boards of accountancy, or who has influenced passage of rules or statutes to strengthen accountancy regulations.

> See Award Criteria

Distinguished Service Award

The NASBA Distinguished Service Award was established in 1999, to honor a volunteer for unswerving commitment and dedication to enhancing the mission of NASBA.

> See Award Criteria

Lorraine P. Sachs Standard of Excellence Award

Created in 2008, the Lorraine P. Sachs Standard of Excellence Award recognizes a current state board executive or administrator that has shown outstanding service to improving the effectiveness of accounting regulation-on local and national fronts.

> See Award Criteria