NASHVILLE, Tenn., November 26, 2019 – Michael T. Daggett, CPA, the late Michael Weinshel, CPA, and Jimmy Corley, CPA, were recently recognized for their leadership and efforts to advance the accounting profession by the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA), during NASBA’s 112th Annual Meeting. Held in Boston, MA, Oct. 27-30, the meeting attracted representatives from 54 U.S. jurisdictions.

Michael T. Daggett, CPA, of Phoenix, AZ, received the William H. Van Rensselaer Award, which recognizes individuals who have contributed to the development of a new program, improvement of a current program for the Boards of Accountancy, or who have influenced passage of rules or statutes to strengthen accountancy regulations. Daggett is a former chair, vice chair and director-at-large of NASBA. As chair of NASBA, Daggett is credited with many of the strides made in bringing the Uniform CPA Examination to international candidates. He is a past president of both the Arizona State Board of Accountancy and the Arizona Society of Certified Public Accountants. Daggett is a retired partner of Daggett McConachie & Moore, CPAs, LLP, and most recently, Michael T. Daggett, CPA (2009-2019). A distinguished past president of the Kiwanis Club of Phoenix, he holds a Bachelor of Business Administration degree in Accounting from Wichita State University.

Michael Weinshel, CPA, of Fairfield, CT, was recognized posthumously as the recipient of the NASBA Distinguished Service Award, which honors individuals who have demonstrated an unswerving commitment and dedication to enhancing the mission of NASBA. Weinshel is a former Northeast regional director of NASBA and a former chair of NASBA’s Enforcement Assessment and Best Practices Committee. He also previously served as a member of the Connecticut State Board of Accountancy and as past president of the Connecticut Society of Certified Public Accountants, where he received the Society’s Meritorious Service Award and Public Service Award. As a member of the American Society of CPAs (AICPA), he served two terms on Council, chaired the AICPA Joint Trial Board and served on their Accountant’s Legal Liability, State Legislation Taxation and State Society Relations Committees. A practicing CPA for over 40 years, Weinshel earned his MBA from the University of Bridgeport. Most recently, he served as managing member of Weinshel, Wynnick & Associates, CPAs, LLC.

Jimmy Corley, CPA, of Little Rock, AR, received the Lorraine P. Sachs Standard of Excellence Award, which recognizes a current state board executive or administrator that has shown outstanding service to improving the effectiveness of accounting regulation-on local and national fronts. Corley has served as executive director of the Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy since 2010. He is a licensed CPA in Arkansas and earned a bachelor’s degree in accounting from the University of Central Arkansas. From 2015-2016, he served as chair of NASBA’s Executive Directors Committee and as executive directors’ liaison to the NASBA Board of Directors.

A member of the Arkansas Society of Certified Public Accountants, Corley has served on two CPA Exam Practice Analysis Advisory Committees and is a current member of the NASBA Uniform Accountancy Act Committee and the AICPA Board of Examiners.

See Full Media Advisory
NASBA Presents Awards To Three Leaders In Accounting

Related News