On June 20, 2019, the NASBA Nominating Committee met in Salt Lake City, UT, and selected the following individuals as their nominees for Directors-at-Large and Regional Directors, as reported by Nominating Committee Chair, Theodore W. Long, Jr. (OH):

As announced in May, the Committee selected A. Carlos Barrera (Delegate – TX) as their Vice Chair nominee, who will accede to the office of NASBA Chair 2020-21 should he be elected by the member Boards at the Annual Business Meeting, on October 29, 2019.

Nominations may also be made by any five member Boards if filed with NASBA Chair Janice L. Gray at least 10 days prior to the Annual Business Meeting. No nominations from the floor will be recognized. A majority vote of the designated voting representatives of the member Boards attending the Annual Meeting shall constitute an election provided a quorum is present.

Under the provisions of NASBA’s Bylaws, at the 2019 Annual Meeting, Laurie J. Tish (Associate – WA) will accede to the office of NASBA Chair and Ms. Gray (Associate – OK) will accede to the office of Past Chair. Continuing to serve for the balance of their unexpired terms: Directors-at-Large (third year of a three-year term) – J. Coalter Baker (Associate -TX), Maria E. Caldwell (Associate – FL) and W. Michael Fritz (Associate – OH); Directors-at-Large (second year of a three-year term) – Sharon A. Jensen (Delegate – MN) and Stephanie M. Saunders (Associate – VA). Should Mr. Barrera be elected Vice Chair, the Board of Directors will select an individual to fill the remaining two years of his term.

At the 2019 Regional Meetings, half of the Nominating Committee’s members and alternate members were selected by four Regions, in accordance with Article 7.2.2 of the Bylaws, with the other half having been selected at the 2018 Regional Meetings. The newly elected members to the 2019-2021 Nominating Committee are:


Member – Harry Parsons (NV)
Alternate – Dan Vuckovich (MT)

Member – Thomas G. Prothro (TX)
Alternate – Manual Cavazos (TX)

Member – Frederick G. Briggs (NH)
Alternate – Richard Silverman (NH)

Great Lakes
Member – James P. Gero (OH)
Alternate – Dolly M. Lalvani (PA)

Continuing on the Nominating Committee for the second year of their two-year term are:

Member – Michelle M. Stromp (NE)
Alternate – Holly Brunick (SD)

Middle Atlantic
Member – Marc Moyers (VA)
Alternate – Barton W. Baldwin (NC)

Member – Raymond N. Johnson (OR)
Alternate – Thomas T. Ueno (HI)

Member – Willie B. Sims, Jr. (MS)
Alternate – David L. Dennis (FL)

Related News

Full Issue