NASHVILLE, TENN. (November 16, 2017) – E. Kent Smoll, CPA, Nicole Kasin and Thomas J. Sadler, CPA-Retired, were recently recognized for their leadership and efforts to advance the accounting profession by the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA), during NASBA’s recent 110th Annual Meeting. Held in New York City, Oct. 29-Nov. 1, the meeting attracted representatives from 54 U.S. jurisdictions.

E. Kent Smoll, of Dodge City, KS, received the NASBA Distinguished Service Award, which honors individuals who have demonstrated an unswerving commitment and dedication to enhancing the mission of NASBA. Smoll currently serves on the NASBA Board of Directors as director-at-large. He is the chair of NASBA’s Enforcement Resources Committee. From 2016-17, Smoll was a member of NASBA’s Administration and Finance Committee and Investment Sub-Committee. From 2011-16, Smoll was the treasurer of NASBA and from 2007-09, he served as Central regional director. Smoll is the former chair of NASBA’s Investment Committee, Relations with Member Boards Committee and Administration and Finance Committee, where he served as chairman for five years. Additionally, he is a former member of NASBA’s Legislative Support Initiative Committee, Relations with Member Boards Committee, Nominating Committee, and Alternative Practice Structure Committee.

Nicole Kasin, of Sioux Falls, SD, received the Lorraine P. Sachs Standard of Excellence Award, which recognizes a current state board executive or administrator that has shown outstanding service to improving the effectiveness of accounting regulation-on local and national fronts. Kasin is the executive director of the South Dakota Board of Accountancy, a position she has held since May 2006. In this role, she is dedicated to enhancing the Board’s processes, operations, technology and efficiencies. Kasin oversees the Board’s program activities and seeks to advance the level of service and communications provided to the Board’s licensees, the public and the South Dakota CPA Society. Prior to her position with the Board, she was a tax program representative with the South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation. From 2016-17, Kasin served on the NASBA CBT Administration Committee and the AICPA State Board Committee. She is a former chair and member of NASBA’s Executive Directors Committee and a former member of NASBA’s Communications Committee, Outreach and Relations Committee, Strategic Planning Group and Enforcement Resources Committee. Most recently, Kasin was appointed as a member of NASBA’s CPE Committee and Awards Committee for 2017-18.

Thomas J. Sadler, of Lakewood, WA, received the William H. Van Rensselaer Award, which recognizes those who have contributed to the development of a new program, improvement of a current program for the Boards of Accountancy, or who have influenced passage of rules or statutes to strengthen accountancy regulations. Sadler is a member of NASBA’s Past Chair Advisory Council and former member of NASBA’s Relations with Member Boards Committee and Global Strategies Committee. In addition, he has served as past chair of NASBA’s Awards, Compliance Assurance, Ethics, Litigation Response and Assistance and Nominating Committees. Sadler is also a past Pacific regional director, director-at-large, and secretary of NASBA. A past chair of the Washington State Board of Accountancy, Sadler served the Washington Board as a strategic adviser and deputy director from 2006 until 2012. He is a member of the Washington Society of CPAs and the American Institute of CPAs, and is past chair of the Washington Society’s Litigation Services Committee. Sadler has earned specialty designations from the AICPA as an “Accredited in Business Valuation” and “Certified in Financial Forensics.” In 2009, Sadler was named as one of the Top 100 Most Influential People in Accounting by Accounting Today.

See Full Media Advisory
NASBA Presents Prestigious Awards to Three Leaders in Accounting


Cassandra Gray
Office: (615) 564-2172

Dina Barabash
Office: (615) 574-6516


Related News