Bookmark and Share

David A. Vaudt, CPA, Richard Isserman, CPA and Viki Windfeldt honored for their contributions to NASBA, Boards of Accountancy and the accounting profession.

NASHVILLE, TENN., (DECEMBER 8, 2014) – David A. Vaudt, CPA, Richard Isserman, CPA and Viki Windfeldt share a few things in common-their passion for public protection and their dedication as regulators of the accounting profession. They also share the honor of recently being recognized for their leadership and efforts to advance the profession by the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA), during NASBA’s 107th Annual meeting. Held in Washington, D.C., November 2-5, the meeting attracted representatives from 53 of the 55 U.S. jurisdictions.

2014 Awards Program Photos GroupedDavid A. Vaudt, CPA, of Norwalk, Conn., was presented with the 2014 William H. Van Rensselaer Public Service Award. Established in 1988, the Van Rensselaer Award recognizes individuals who have led the development or improvement of Boards of Accountancy programs, or influenced the passage of rules or statutes to improve accountancy regulations and laws, with the goal of protecting the public.

Vaudt, a past chair of NASBA (2003-04) and retired audit partner with KPMG, is the current chairman of the Governmental Accounting Standards Board (GASB). He joined the GASB after serving 10 years as Iowa’s elected state auditor and chairing the Iowa Accountancy Examining Board from 1995-2002. From 2005-13, he served on the CPA Examination Review Board, most recently as vice chair.

During his tenure with NASBA, Vaudt chaired the Past Chair Advisory Council and the Examinations, Nominating, Public Perception and Regulatory Structures committees. As chair of NASBA, Vaudt was instrumental in the planning of the Accountancy Licensee Database and was heavily involved during the launch of the computer-based Uniform CPA Examination. In 2004, 2013 and 2014, he was named to Accounting Today’s annual list of the “100 Most Influential People in Accounting.”

Richard Isserman, CPA, of New York, N.Y., is the recipient of the 2014 NASBA Distinguished Service Award. This award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated unswerving commitment and dedication to enhancing the mission of NASBA.

As a retired partner with KPMG LLP, Isserman was responsible for leading the New York office’s Audit Real Estate Department. A former NASBA director-at-large, Isserman is regarded for chairing NASBA’s Regulatory Response Committee from November 2004 through October 2013, and elevating the Committee as a “think tank” for Boards of Accountancy.

Isserman is a former member of the AICPA Council and Board of Examiners. He also chaired the AICPA’s Content Oversight Task Force that developed the content specifications for the first electronically-delivered CPA Examination.  Currently, Isserman is the chair of NASBA’s Audit Committee.

Viki A. Windfeldt of Sparks, Nev., is the recipient of the Lorraine P. Sachs Standard of Excellence Award, which salutes Board of Accountancy executive staff leaders who demonstrate excellence in regulating and make a positive impact on the profession.

Windfeldt currently serves as the executive director of the Nevada State Board of Accountancy, a role she has held since 2003. During her 19 years with the Board, she has been successful in building solid, working relationships with the Nevada Society of CPAs, CPA stakeholders and state legislature. Under her leadership, the Nevada Board has successfully streamlined processes, reduced office expenditures, instituted website and computer software development and launched online access and reporting of programs including license renewals, CPE audit submission, peer review reporting, examination application, reporting of exam scores and scanning, resulting in a paperless office.

Her leadership has been further demonstrated as a former board member and executive member of the AICPA Board of Examiners (2009-12), a former chair, Board of Directors liaison and committee member of NASBA’s Executive Directors Committee (2004-09), and former member of NASBA’s Enforcement Resources Committee (2008-12).  Presently, Windfeldt serves on NASBA’s Accountancy Licensee Database/CPAverify Committee.

Here is the presentation of the 2014 awards:

To learn more about NASBA’s annual awards and to view a list of previous winners, visit the Awards section of this website.

See Full Media Advisory
NASBA Presents Prestigious Awards To Three Leaders In Accounting


Cassandra Gray
Office: (615) 564-2172

Related News