NASHVILLE, Tenn., November 25, 2019 – The National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) announces members of its Board of Directors for 2019-20. Members were installed during NASBA’s 112th Annual Meeting, held Oct. 27-30, in Boston, MA.

Laurie J. Tish, CPA, of Seattle, WA, acceded to the office of chair. Tish has held numerous roles within NASBA since 2003. She is a former vice chair, Pacific regional director and director-at-large of NASBA, and a former chair of NASBA’s Accountancy Licensee Database, Global Strategies and Uniform Accountancy Act Committees. Tish recently completed a three-year term on the AICPA Professional Ethics Executive Committee. She has also served on the Washington Society of CPAs Government Accounting and Auditing Committee, and as a technical reviewer for the Government Finance Officers Association. A partner and national practice leader for government services for Moss Adams LLP, Tish is a nationally recognized speaker on corporate sustainability reporting and federal compliance.

A. Carlos Barrera, CPA, of Brownsville, TX, was elected vice chair. Barrera previously served as a director-at-large, treasurer and Southwest regional director of NASBA. He is a former chair of NASBA’s Administration and Finance, Board Effectiveness and Legislative Support, CPE, Global Strategies and Standard-Setting and Professional Trends Advisory Committees. A partner at the national firm Carr, Riggs & Ingram, LLC, Barrera served six years on the Texas State Board of Public Accountancy (2007-2013), with two years as treasurer and two years as presiding officer.

Kenya Y. Watts, CPA, of Gahanna, OH, was elected Great Lakes regional director. Watts is the chair of NASBA’s Communications Committee and a member of the Relations with Member Boards Committee and the 120/150 Task Force. A manager of Business Services at BHM CPA Group in Columbus, OH, Watts was appointed to the Ohio Accountancy Board in 2016 and currently serves as its secretary.

Jason D. Peery, CPA, of Boise, ID, was elected Mountain regional director. Peery is a partner with Grow Rasmussen LLP and has lived in Idaho since 1998. He currently serves as vice chair of the Idaho State Board of Accountancy as well as a member of NASBA’s Education Committee and Relations with Member Boards Committee.

Alison L. Houck, CPA, of Rehoboth Beach, DE, was elected Middle Atlantic regional director. Houck is the chair of NASBA’s Diversity Committee and a former member of the Communications Committee. A managing partner of the Delaware office of Faw, Casson & Co., LLP, Houck is serving her second term on the Delaware State Board of Accountancy, where she is the current president.

Stephen F. Langowski, CPA, of Forest Hills, NY, was elected Northeast regional director. Langowski is the chair of NASBA’s Compliance Assurance Committee and a member of the Relations with Member Boards Committee. A former president of the New York State Society of Certified Public Accountants, he currently serves as vice chair of the New York State Board of Public Accountancy.

Tyrone E. Dickerson, CPA, of Richmond, VA, was elected director-at-large and will serve as chair of NASBA’s CBT Administration Committee. A former Middle Atlantic regional director and director-at-large of NASBA, Dickerson is also a former chair of NASBA’s CPE Standards Working Group, Diversity Committee and CPE Committee. Additionally, he served eight years on the Virginia Board of Accountancy, with two terms as chair.

Grace Berger, of Helena, MT, will serve as executive directors’ liaison and chair of the Executive Directors Committee. She served as a member of the Executive Directors Committee from 2017-19 and was also a member of NASBA’s Strategic Planning Task Force. Today, she is the executive officer for the Montana Board of Public Accountants.

Continuing Board Members:

J. Coalter Baker (Director-at-Large)
Maria E. Caldwell (Director-at-Large)
John F. Dailey, Jr. (Director-at-Large)
W. Michael Fritz (Treasurer)
Sharon A. Jensen (Director-at-Large)
Stephanie M. Saunders (Secretary)
Janice L. Gray (Past Chair)
J. Andy Bonner, Jr. (Southeast Regional Director)
Katrina Salazar (Pacific Regional Director)
Faye D. Miller (Central Regional Director)
Richard N. Reisig (Director-at-Large)
C. Jack Emmons (Southwest Regional Director)
Catherine R. Allen (Director-at-Large)
Ken L. Bishop (President & CEO)

See Full Media Advisory
NASBA Announces 2019-20 Board Appointments

Related News