NASHVILLE, TENN. (Oct. 31, 2023) – Theodore W. Long, Jr., CPA, Tyrone E. Dickerson, CPA, and Kent. A. Absec were honored on October 31, 2023, for their leadership and contributions to the accounting profession by the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA), during NASBA’s 116th Annual Meeting, in New York, NY. The meeting attracted representatives from 53 U.S. jurisdictions.

    Theodore W. Long, Jr., CPA, of Shaker Heights, OH, received the 2023 William H. Van Rensselaer Public Service Award, which recognizes individuals who have contributed to the development of a new program, improvement of a current program for the Boards of Accountancy, or who have influenced passage of rules or statutes to strengthen accountancy regulations. Long is a retired partner of Ernst & Young, LLP, with over 35 years of experience in public accounting, primarily in attest and advisory services. He is a past chair of NASBA (2017-2018) and has held numerous leadership positions as a member of the NASBA Board of Directors, including treasurer, vice chair, director-at-large and Great Lakes regional director. A former member and two-term chair (1990-1992, 2004-2005) of the Accountancy Board of Ohio, Long currently serves on NASBA’s Bylaws Committee and Past Chair Advisory Council. During his tenure as NASBA chair, he proved instrumental in discussions surrounding the Reorganization Impact Task Force, anti-regulatory legislation and the creation of the CPA Evolution Working Group.

    Tyrone E. Dickerson, CPA, of Richmond, VA, received the 2023 NASBA Distinguished Service Award. This award honors individuals who have demonstrated an unswerving commitment and dedication to enhancing the mission of NASBA. In recent years, Dickerson served on the NASBA Board of Directors as director-at-large, treasurer and Middle Atlantic regional director. He is a former chair of NASBA’s Administration and Finance Committee, CBT Administration Committee, CPE Committee, Diversity Committee and CPE Standards Working Group. Additionally, he is a former member of NASBA’s Relations with Member Boards Committee and Enforcement Resource Committee. Dickerson served eight years on the Virginia Board of Accountancy, with two terms as chair. In 1984, he founded Tyrone E. Dickerson, CPA firm, following a successful career in the broadcasting industry. Currently, he practices as a sole practitioner specializing in auditing small businesses and not-for-profit organizations.

    Kent A. Absec, of Boise, ID, received the 2023 Lorraine P. Sachs Standard of Excellence Award, which recognizes a current state board executive or administrator that has shown outstanding service to improving the effectiveness of accounting regulation-on local and national fronts. Absec has served as the executive officer of the Idaho State Board of Accountancy since March 2012. In October 2021, he took on roles as executive officer for five additional regulatory boards and as licensing program manager for the 16 boards and commissions under the Occupations Section of the Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses (DOPL). Absec served six years on the NASBA CBT Administration Committee and five terms as a member of NASBA’s Executive Directors Committee, including two terms as chair and liaison to the NASBA Board of Directors. Additionally, Absec had a three-year term on the AICPA’s State Board Committee and the NASBA/AICPA CPA Pipeline Working Group.

    See Full Media Announcement:
    NASBA Presents Prestigious Awards to Three Leaders In Accounting

    Related News