Donald Burkett, the late John (Jack) Dailey, Jr., and Patti Bowers were honored on November 1 as recipients of NASBA’s 2022 awards, during the Annual Business Meeting, in San Diego, CA. Spearheaded annually by the NASBA Awards Committee, the awards recognize NASBA members for their leadership, service to NASBA and state boards, and their efforts to advance the accounting profession. Laurie Tish, 2022-23 Awards Committee Chair, and NASBA Executive Vice President Emerita Lorraine Sachs, were on hand to present each of the awards.

Donald Burkett, of West Columbia, SC, received the 2022 William H. Van Rensselaer Public Service Award. A past chair of NASBA, he is the current chair of the NASBA Center for the Public Trust Board of Directors. In accepting his award, Burkett shared, “I am humbled and honored to receive this award, and challenge each of you to continue to do the hard work, and the good, and we’ll continue to be the most trusted profession in the world.”

The NASBA Distinguished Service Award was presented posthumously to John (Jack) Dailey, Jr., of Voorhees, NJ. Most recently, Dailey served as a member of NASBA’s Board of Directors as director-at-large and as chair of its Legislative Support Committee. Fellow NASBA board member and friend, Tyrone Dickerson accepted the award on behalf of the Dailey family.

California Board of Accountancy Executive Officer Patti Bowers of Sacramento, CA, was recognized as the recipient of the 2022 Lorraine P. Sachs Standard of Excellence Award. As executive officer, Bowers, a 30- year veteran of the CBA, has overseen the adoption and implementation of significant consumer protection policies in California, and participated in a number of committees and taskforces that have worked to help support Board of Accountancy operations across the country.

Congratulations to this year’s winners.

Related News

Full Issue