NASHVILLE, Tenn., Nov. 3, 2022 – The National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) announces members of its Board of Directors for 2022-2023. Members were installed during NASBA’s 115th Annual Meeting, held Oct. 30 – Nov. 2, 2022, in San Diego, CA.

Richard N. Reisig, CPA, of Great Falls, MT, acceded to the office of chair. A former vice chair, treasurer and director-at-large of NASBA, he is a member and former chair of the NASBA Administration and Finance Committee. Reisig also served as chair of NASBA’s Standard-Setting and Professional Trends Advisory and CBT Administration Committees and is a former member of NASBA’s Relations with Member Boards, 120/150 Task Force, CPA Licensing and Examinations and Peer Review Compliance Committees. Reisig presently serves on the Financial Accounting Foundation’s Board of Trustees.

Stephanie M. Saunders, CPA, of Virginia Beach, VA, was elected vice chair. Saunders is a former NASBA director-at-large, Board secretary and Middle Atlantic regional director. She is also a former chair of NASBA’s Uniform Accountancy Act, Relations with Member Boards and Education Committees. An associate member of the Virginia Board of Accountancy and former chair of the Virginia Society of CPAs, Saunders served for four years as a NASBA representative on the Professional Ethics Executive Committee.

Gerald P. Weinstein, CPA, Ph.D., of Pepper Pike, OH, was elected Great Lakes regional director. Weinstein is professor emeritus of accountancy at John Carroll University, retiring in 2020 after nearly 35 years on the faculty. He is the current chair of the Accountancy Board of Ohio and has served on NASBA’s Communications Committee. A member of the American Institute of CPAs, Ohio Society of CPAs, and American Accounting Association, Weinstein continues to engage with students by managing and working with them in the IRS’ Volunteer Income Tax Assistance program during busy season.

Richard S. Silverman, CPA, of Hampton, NH, was elected Northeast regional director. Silverman is a member of the NASBA Education Committee and the chair and former secretary of the New Hampshire Board of Accountancy, where he has been serving since 2013. He previously served as a member of NASBA’s Ethics, Education and Nominating Committees, where he was the Northeast region alternate. Currently, Silverman works for Bigelow & Company, Certified Public Accountants, PLLC.

Willie B. Sims, Jr., CPA, of Hattiesburg, MS, was elected Southeast regional director. Sims is the owner of Willie B. Sims, Jr., CPA, PLLC, a small accounting firm formed in 1994, where he oversees the firm’s day-to- day operations, which include tax and tax planning, audit and assurance and the compliance divisions. Sims is a member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants and Mississippi State Society of CPAs  and has served on NASBA’s CPE, Diversity, Nominating and Awards Committees as well as its Strategic Planning Task Force.  

Vikki G. Nunn, CPA, CITP, of Casper, WY, was elected Mountain regional director. Presently, she serves as board chair for the Wyoming Board of Certified Public Accountants and specializes in IT systems and auditing. Nunn began her career with McGladrey & Pullen. She has performed auditing services over the past 21 years for various governments and businesses including construction companies, banks, aviation, employee benefit plans, oil and gas companies and various not-for-profit organizations.

John Patterson, Esq., of Worthington, OH, was appointed executive director liaison to the Board of Directors and chair of NASBA’s Executive Directors Committee. Patterson currently serves as executive director of the Accountancy Board of Ohio, effective January 13, 2013. He has served as the attorney general liaison to the Ohio Board for over 10 years and has established a very strong relationship with key members of the Ohio Society of CPAs and at NASBA.

Arthur M. Winstead, Jr., CPA, CFE, CFF, CGMA, of Greensboro, NC, was elected Middle Atlantic regional director. He has served on the State Mobility, Regulatory Response and Global Standards Committees of NASBA and the AICPA-NASBA Uniform Accountancy Act Committee. Winstead is a consulting and testifying expert witness on accounting, auditing and financial matters. His memberships include the Association of International Certified Public Accountants, the North Carolina Association of Certified Public Accountants and the Association of Certified Fraud Examiners.

Continuing Board Members:

  • J. Coalter Baker (Director-at-Large)
  • J. Andy Bonner (Director-at-Large)
  • Jimmy E. Burkes (Director-at-Large)
  • Maria E. Caldwell (Director-at-Large, Treasurer)
  • Nancy J. Corrigan (Pacific Regional Director)
  • Michael W. Fritz (Past Chair)
  • Lynn V. Hutchinson (Southwest Regional Director)
  • Stephen Langowski (Director-at- Large)
  • Nicola Neilon (Director-at-Large, Secretary)
  • Jason Peery (Director-at-Large)
  • Katrina Salazar (Director-at-Large)
  • Michael Schmitz (Central Regional Director)
  • Kenya Watts (Director-at-Large)
  • Ken L. Bishop (President & CEO)

See Full Media Announcement:

NASBA Announces 2022-23 Board of Directors

Related News