NASHVILLE, TENN. (November 4, 2020) – Carlos E. Johnson, CPA, Ed.D., Raymond N. Johnson, CPA, Ph.D. and Russ Friedewald were recognized on November 3, 2020, for their leadership and efforts to advance the accounting profession by the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA), during NASBA’s 113th Annual Meeting. The meeting attracted representatives from 54 U.S. jurisdictions.

Carlos E. Johnson, CPA, Ed.D., of Oklahoma City, OK, received the William H. Van Rensselaer Public Service Award, which recognizes individuals who have contributed to the development of a new program, improvement of a current program for the Boards of Accountancy, or who have influenced passage of rules or statutes to strengthen accountancy regulations. Johnson is a former chair, vice chair, director-at-large and Southwest regional director of NASBA. He is also a former chair of NASBA’s UAA, Nominating, State Board Relevance and Effectiveness, Legislative Support, Audit and Awards Committees, Past Chair Advisory Council, Leadership Development Group and Substantial Equivalency Strike Force (Mobility Task Force). Johnson successfully championed the passage of substantial equivalency provisions in the Uniform Accountancy Act and fostered the relationship between NASBA and the American Accounting Association.

Raymond N. Johnson, CPA, Ph.D., of Sunriver, OR, received the NASBA Distinguished Service Award, which honors individuals who have demonstrated an unswerving commitment and dedication to enhancing the mission of NASBA. Johnson is an author and professor emeritus at Portland State University, where he taught auditing concepts and practices, financial statement analysis and a case course focused on developing students critical thinking skills for 35 years. He has participated in several leadership roles and committees for NASBA. Johnson has served on the Board of Directors, chaired the Education and Ethics and Professional Issues Committees, and was a member of NASBA’s Ethics, Legislative Support, Regulatory Response, Standard-Setting and Professional Trends Advisory and State Board Relevance and Effectiveness Committees.

Russ Friedewald, of Riverton, IL, formerly of Poplar Bluff, MO, received the Lorraine P. Sachs Standard of Excellence Award, which recognizes a current state board executive or administrator who has shown outstanding service to improving the effectiveness of accounting regulation-on local and national fronts. Friedewald is the executive director of the Illinois Board of Examiners located in Naperville, IL. Under his leadership, the Board of Examiners is responsible for reviewing and approving candidates to sit for the Uniform CPA Examination, where approximately 10,000 exam sections are administered to Illinois candidates annually. He currently serves as a member of NASBA’s CBT Administration and Regulatory Agency Administrators Committees for the Council on Licensure, Enforcement and Regulation (CLEAR). 

Related News