Bookmark and Share

State Board Report

July 2015

The NASBA Nominating Committee met on June 26, 2015 in Baltimore and selected the following individuals as their nominees for Directors-at-Large and Regional Directors, as reported by Nominating Committee Chair Carlos E. Johnson:

Directors-at-Large (three-year terms)

  • Tyrone E. Dickerson (Associate – VA)
  • Raymond N. Johnson (Associate – OR)
  • E. Kent Smoll (Associate – KS)

Regional Directors (one-year term)

  • Central – Sharon A. Jensen (Delegate – MN)
  • Great Lakes – Wayne Michael Fritz (Delegate-OH)
  • Mountain – Benjamin C. Steele (Delegate- NV)
  • Northeast – John F. Dailey, Jr. (Delegate-NJ)
  • Pacific – Edwin G. Jolicoeur (Delegate- WA)
  • Southeast – Maria E. Caldwell (Delegate – FL)
  • Southwest – J. Coalter Baker (Delegate – TX)

On June 26, the Nominating Committee learned that the current Middle Atlantic Regional Director had withdrawn his name from consideration for another term. As a result, the Nominating Committee is now seeking names of qualified individuals interested in serving as the Middle Atlantic Regional Director for the 2015-2016 term. Per NASBA Bylaws, Section 4.5.8, all Regional Directors must be State Board members at the time of or within six months prior to the Annual Meeting. Interested and qualified persons should submit letters of interest via email to NASBA Nominating Committee Chair Johnson in care of by Monday, August 10, 2015.

As previously announced, Telford A. Lodden (Associate – IA), is the Nominating Committee’s choice for Vice Chair 2015-2016, to accede to Chair 2016-2017 if elected Vice Chair by the member Boards at the October 27, 2015 Annual Business Meeting in Dana Point, CA. Elections for the other NASBA officers will also take place at that time. Nominations may also be made by any five member Boards if filed with NASBA Chair Walter C. Davenport at least 10 days before the Annual Business Meeting. A majority vote of the designated voting representatives of the member Boards attending the Annual Meeting shall constitute an election provided a quorum is present.

At the 2015 Regional Meetings, half of the Nominating
Committee’s members and alternate members were selected by four
Regions, in accordance with Section 7.1 of the Bylaws.

The newly elected members of the 2015-2017 Nominating Committee are:

  • Great Lakes – Barry M. Berkowitz (Delegate – PA) member, Sheldon P. Holzman (Delegate-IL) alternate;
  • Mountain – Karen Forrest Turner (Delegate- CO) member, Cheryl M. Guiddy (Delegate-ID) alternate;
  • Northeast – Michael Weinshel (Associate-CT) member; Frederick
    G. Briggs, Jr. (Delegate-NH) alternate;
  • Southwest – Barbara A. Ley (Delegate-OK) member; Thomas G.
    Prothro (Delegate-TX) alternate.

The Nominating Committee will meet on August 21, 2015 to select their candidate for Middle Atlantic Regional Director.

Related News

Full Issue