State Board Report

November 2011

At the Annual Meeting, the NASBA awards program recognized for their outstanding accomplishments: Sandra A. Suran, CPA (OR) – William H. Van Rensselaer Award; Philip W. Gleason, CPA (MN) – Distinguished Service Award; and Barbara R. Porter (ID) – Lorraine P. Sachs Award.

Ms. Suran, NASBA President 1984-5, led NASBA’s first strategic planning process and continues today to be an active member of the Communications Committee and State Board Relevance and Effectiveness Committee. Ms. Suran said the State Accountancy Boards are “the critical cog in financial regulation” and, if the public realized that, “they would be horrified at any proposed legislation that reduces the effectiveness of Accountancy Boards.” She thanked President Costello and the NASBA Board members for the “steps they have taken to build the organization.”

Mr. Gleason, a sole practitioner who served on the Minnesota Board from 1992-2004, and long remained involve in setting continuing professional education standards, thanked all those he had worked with over the years. “Whatever I was able to accomplish, I did not do by myself,” he stated.

Ms. Porter, Executive Director of the Idaho Board, credited her NASBA involvement with giving her the knowledge to carry back to her Board for its improvement. “We in small states have the same responsibilities. We just have to do more with less – and be a jack of all trades,” she observed.

Related News

Full Issue