State Board Report

July 2009

On June 19 the NASBA Nominating Committee met in Indianapolis, IN, and selected the following individuals as their nominees for Directors?at?Large and Regional Directors, as reported by Nominating Committee Chair Samuel K. Cotterell:

Directors?at?Large (three?year terms)

Walter C. Davenport (Associate – NC)
Mark P. Harris (Delegate – LA)
Carlos E. Johnson (Delegate – OK)

Regional Directors (one?year terms)

Middle Atlantic – Donald H. Burkett (Delegate – SC)
Great Lakes ? Claireen Herting (Delegate – IL)
Southwest ? David D. Duree (Delegate – TX)
Southeast ? Kenneth R. Odom (Delegate ? AL)
Mountain ? Harry O. Parsons (Delegate – NV)
Central – Telford A. Lodden (Delegate – IA)
Pacific ? Laurie J. Tish (Delegate – WA)
Northeast ? Michael Weinshel (Delegate – CT)

As announced in March, the Committee selected Michael T. Daggett (Associate ? AZ) as their Vice Chair nominee, who will accede to the office of NASBA Chair 2010?11 should he be elected at the Annual Business Meeting, on November 3, 2009.

Nominations may also be made by any five member boards if filed with NASBA Chair Thomas J. Sadler at least 10 days prior to the Annual Business Meeting. No nominations from the floor will be recognized. A majority vote of the designated voting representatives of the member boards attending the Annual Meeting shall constitute an election provided a quorum is present.

Under the provisions of NASBA’s Bylaws, at the 2009 Annual Meeting, Billy M. Atkinson (Associate – TX) will accede to the office of NASBA Chair and Mr. Sadler (Associate – WA) will accede to the office of Past Chair. Continuing to serve for the balance of their unexpired terms: Directors?at?Large (third year of a three?year term) – Sally Flowers (Associate – CA), Gaylen R. Hansen (Delegate – CO) and Leonard R. Sanchez (Delegate – NM); Directors?at?Large (second year of a three?year term) – Richard Isserman (Delegate – NY), Theodore Long, Jr. (Associate – OH) and Kathleen J. Smith (Associate – NE).

At the 2009 Regional Meetings, half of the Nominating Committee’s members and alternate members were selected by four Regions, in accordance with Article VII Section 3 of the Bylaws, with the other half having been selected at the 2008 Regional Meetings. The newly elected members to the 2009?2011 Nominating Committee are:

Southwest – Dorothy Fowler (TX); Alternate ? Michael A. Tham (LA)
Mountain – Charles W. Clark (ID); Alternate ? Patrick M. Thorne (NV)
Northeast – Andrew L. DuBoff (NJ); Alternate ? James S. Ciarcia (CT)
Great Lakes – Myra A. Swick (IL); Alternate – Ray G. Stephens (OH).

In addition, the Pacific Region elected Raymond Johnson (OR) to complete the remaining year of Mr. Daggett’s term as an alternate member for the Nominating Committee.

Related News

Full Issue